Dive Into Summer With “Malibu Rising”

by | May 2024

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Taylor Jenkins Reid does it again in one of her most recent historical fiction novels, Malibu Rising.

Malibu, California, August 1983. Nina Riva is hosting her annual end-of-summer party, and everyone is trying to get on the list. Nina is a talented supermodel and surfer; her siblings Jay and Hud are a champion surfer and a world-renowned photographer; and baby sister Kit is just finding her place in the world. The world is fascinated with the Riva family, especially since their father, Mick Riva, is a talented, nationally renowned singer.

Although Jay can’t stop counting down to the big night, and Kit invites her own secret guest, Nina is not excited to host hundreds of out-of-control guests at the oceanside house. The drinks flow, the music plays, secrets come out and the house is burned down before the next morning.

Told in dual timelines, Malibu Rising shares the story of each sibling—plus Mick—and the secrets they’re hiding. The book also intertwines with Jenkins Reid’s other novels, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Daisy Jones & The Six.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This